Introduction: What am I up to?

The purpose of this blog is to provide a central location for all of my music projects. You can head on over to the “Who is dflo?” page to find out anything about me that you desire I desired to post. You can also check out the “What is dflosounds?” page for another brief description of this blog.

As of now, the two main music projects I’m working on are getting an EP recorded and writing music that will hopefully be used for web games (including web games that I’m working on myself). Yes, I also have a geek/tech side and I plan to whip up a blog revolving around that as well.

In a few weeks I’ll (hopefully) be in a studio recording my EP. For those of you unfamiliar with what an EP is, click on this shiny wikipedia link. It will consist of a mixture of alternative rock and folk. I love playing and writing in several different styles, which is why I’ve taken so long to throw together a single collection of songs. I’m hoping that this EP will mark the end of my indecisiveness and the beginning of getting my name out there.

A tiny bit of history:

Back in high school, I worked pretty hard on a ridiculous concept album called The Blue Note Chronicles of the Man With No Feet. My friend came up with the title, saying it would make a cool song title. I told him (half jokingly) that I’d make it an entire concept album. The weeks went by and the ideas grew. My friends and I started to come up with an insane story to fit the insane title, and I started writing some music. It was all very psychedelic prog-rock material, which was supposed to contain lyrics that could be interpreted as normal songs on their own, but also map out a satisfyingly epic storyline when put together. Unfortunately, as high school came to an end, progress on the album quickly fizzled away. I desperately tried to keep the project afloat through my freshman and sophomore year in college, but it eventually came to a complete stand-still. You can check out some of the recorded content on my bandcamp page. I don’t know if I’ll ever complete the project, but I sure hope I will.

Anyway, this leads into where I am now with my personal music. After discovering how difficult it is to record a full-blown album (concept album at that) with a group of musicians, I decided to lower the bar a little bit. That’s what led me to focus more on an EP of my own music. Eventually I hope to get a group of people together to play this music I’m writing, but for now I just need to get it written and recorded. I’ll use this blog to share my experience and progress with whoever is bored interested enough to read.

One comment on “Introduction: What am I up to?

  1. Why do Minor Keys sound sad?
    If you want to answer the question, why minor chords sound sad, there is the problem, that some minor chords don’t sound sad. The solution is the Theory of Musical Equilibration. It says, that music is not able to transmit emotions directly. Music can just convey processes of will, but the music listener fills this processes of will with emotions. Similar, when you watch a dramatic movie in television, the movie cannot transmit emotions directly, but processes of will. The spectator perceives the processes of will dyed with emotions – identifying with the protagonist. When you listen music you identify too, but with an anonymous will now.
    If you perceive a major chord, you normally identify with the will “Yes, I want to…”. If you perceive a minor chord, you identify normally with the will “I don’t want any more…”. If you play the minor chord softly, you connect the will “I don’t want any more…” with a feeling of sadness. If you play the minor chord loudly, you connect the same will with a feeling of rage. You distinguish in the same way as you would distinguish, if someone would say the words “I don’t want anymore…” the first time softly and the second time loudly.
    This operations of will in the music were unknown until the Theory of Musical Equilibration discovered them. And therefore many previous researches in psychology of music failed. If you want more information about music and emotions and get the answer, why music touches us emotionally, you can download the essay “Vibrating Molecules and the Secret of their Feelings” for free. You can get it on the link:
    http://www.willimekmusic.homepage.t-online.de/music-and-emotions.pdf
    Enjoy reading
    Bernd Willimek

Leave a Reply

